Andrea Bruce – Going into Chaos

In crisis regions, normality is in short supply. Nevertheless, people learn to live with it, the US-American war photographer tells. The interview edited by Alan Webber.

I’ve been a photographer for the past 20 years and for the last 15 years I’ve mostly covered conflict, focusing on the Middle East. Although I’ve covered war, I consider myself a community photographer. I focus on people and the shared traits that people have around the world. The more conflicts you go to in different countries, the more those common traits become apparent.

My job is to go into chaos and make sense of it. I go into a chaotic place and I turn it into one photograph in a square. That photograph becomes a memory that’s cemented in people’s minds for a long time.

In Afghanistan I spent a lot of time with people who’d been displaced because of the violence in their country. They ended up in camps, tens of thousands of refugees living on the outskirts of Kabul. They needed aid but the government wouldn’t allow aid organizations into the camps. Kabul can have very severe winters and one winter was so bad that children started to die in large numbers. The Afghan government said it wasn’t true – it wasn’t happening. They still kept aid organizations out. I got to know the camp leaders quite well. One morning, one of them came to me and said, that another child had died. Would I please come? I found this oddly beautiful situation with immense sadness. The women were all gathered inside a mud hut and the mother of the child who had died was standing up. Her dead child was in front of her.

”Humans are very resilient. We think we’re not, but we are.”

I took the photograph and the next day it ran on the front page of the New York Times. It created a huge wave of reaction. The U.S. military, aid organizations, even the Afghan government brought food and coats and oil for heat. Why did this photo get such a reaction? It was published a few days after Christmas and the photograph echoed the nativity scene, with the woman in a dark room with her burka down behind her and her child lying in front of her.

It showed how photography can create a connection between cultures and religions. A photograph can create a bond where people can relate to each other and care about each other.

“I often feel like I have to trick people into paying attention to the world.“

I often feel like I have to trick people into paying attention to the world. It seems so simple, but it’s hard to get people to pay attention. That’s my goal. And that’s hard enough.

When you think about the idea of “out of control” you have to start with the idea of “normal.” What is “normal” to someone who lives in a war zone? The examples I saw in Iraq at first seemed out of control. But there is even a strange routine to that. There is a bombing, there is a hospital, there is a morgue, there is a funeral. There is a bombing and there is shattered glass. The next morning, they wake up, buy new glass and put their business together again. It becomes almost normal. The chaos can almost be predictable.

”The goal is empathy. Empathy from chaos.“

I can imagine a photography project for Upper Austria to chronicle the culture and the lives of people here as a way to break through divisions and create more empathy. Photography is a direct way to bridge the barriers that exist between different people, different political views, different religions. Photography is the clearest way that I’ve found to create empathy out of madness or chaos.

VITA

The award-winning documentary photographer Andrea Bruce focuses on people living in the aftermath of war. Beginning in 2003, she has chronicled the world’s most troubled areas, focusing on Iraq and Afghanistan.

She was based in Iraq for seven years as a photographer for The Washington Post. During this time, she wrote a weekly column called “Unseen Iraq” to show the unknown faces of war. Besides The Washington Post, National Geographic and The New York Times are two of her most important employers.

Andrea Bruce has won numerous awards including the World Press Photo 2nd prize in 2014 for the image ‘Soldier’s Funeral‘ and the inaugural Chris Hondros Fund Award in 2012 for the “commitment, willingness and sacrifice shown in her work”. In 2010, the White House News Photographers Association (WHNPA) awarded Andrea Bruce a grant for her work on the conflict in Ingushetia (Russia). She also won the prestigious John Faber Award from the Overseas Press Club in New York and has been named Photographer of the Year four times by the WHNPA.

Currently, she is working on a project that illustrates how democracy is exercised and understood in different communities in the US.

Andrea Bruce – Going into Chaos

Ich bin seit 20 Jahren Fotografin und in den let­zten 15 Jahren habe ich haupt­säch­lich über Kon­flik­te berichtet – mit einem Fokus auf den Mit­tleren Osten. Obwohl ich über Kriege berichte, sehe ich mich selb­st als Com­mu­ni­ty-Fotografin. Ich konzen­triere mich auf Men­schen und das, was die Men­schen weltweit miteinan­der verbindet. Je mehr Kon­flik­te man in den ver­schieden­sten Län­dern sieht, desto mehr treten diese gemein­samen Merk­male in den Vorder­grund.

„Men­schen sind sehr wider­stands­fähig. Wir glauben es zwar nicht, aber wir sind es.“

Meine Auf­gabe ist es, ins Chaos zu gehen und ihm Sinn zu geben. Ich reise zu einem chao­tis­chen Ort und mache daraus ein rechteck­iges Bild. Diese Fotografie wird zu ein­er Erin­nerung, die sich für lange Zeit in das Gedächt­nis der Men­schen ein­prägt.

In Afghanistan ver­brachte ich viel Zeit mit Men­schen, die von der Gewalt in ihrem Land ver­trieben wur­den. Sie lan­de­ten in Camps. Zehn­tausende Flüchtlinge lebten am Stad­trand von Kab­ul. Sie braucht­en Hil­fe, aber die Regierung gewährte den Hil­f­sor­gan­i­sa­tio­nen keinen Zutritt zu diesen Camps. Die Win­ter in Kab­ul kön­nen sehr hart sein und ein­er dieser Win­ter war so schlimm, dass zahlre­iche Kinder star­ben. Die afghanis­che Regierung sagte, dass das nicht stimmte – dass das nicht passierte. Sie ließ die Hil­f­sor­gan­i­sa­tio­nen noch immer nicht hinein. Ich lernte die Cam­pleit­er recht gut ken­nen. Eines Mor­gens kam ein­er von ihnen und erzählte mir, dass wieder ein Kind gestor­ben war. Ob ich bitte kom­men kön­nte? Ich traf dort auf diese eigen­tüm­lich schöne Sit­u­a­tion uner­messlich­er Trau­rigkeit. Die Frauen waren alle in ein­er Lehmhütte zusam­mengekom­men, in der die Mut­ter des ver­stor­be­nen Kindes stand. Ihr totes Kind lag vor ihr.

Ich machte ein Foto und am näch­sten Tag erschien es auf der Titel­seite der New York Times. Es löste eine enorme Welle an Reak­tio­nen aus. Das US-Mil­itär, Hil­f­sor­gan­i­sa­tio­nen und selb­st die afghanis­che Regierung bracht­en Lebens­mit­tel, Män­tel und Öl für die Heizun­gen. Warum erzielte dieses Foto der­ar­tige Reak­tio­nen? Es wurde ein paar Tage nach Wei­h­nacht­en pub­liziert und das Bild erin­nerte an die Szene der Geburt Jesu: die Frau in einem dun­klen Raum, ihre Bur­ka herun­tergestreift, das Kind vor ihr liegend.

„Das Ziel ist Empathie. Empathie aus dem Chaos.“

Das zeigt, wie Fotografie eine Verbindung zwis­chen Kul­turen und Reli­gio­nen bewirken kann. Ein Foto kann eine Bindung erzeu­gen, durch die Men­schen miteinan­der in Beziehung treten und füreinan­der Sorge tra­gen.

Ich habe oft das Gefühl, als müsste ich die Leute überlis­ten, damit sie der Welt ihre Aufmerk­samkeit schenken. Es sieht so ein­fach aus, aber es ist schwierig, Men­schen dazu zu brin­gen, acht­sam zu sein. Das ist mein Ziel. Und es ist schw­er genug.

Wenn man über das Konzept von „außer Kon­trolle“ nach­denkt, muss man damit anfan­gen, was eigentlich „nor­mal“ ist. Was ist „nor­mal“ für jeman­den, der in ein­er Kriegszone lebt? Die Beispiele, die ich im Irak sah, schienen im ersten Moment so, als wären sie außer Kon­trolle. Aber selb­st das hat eine selt­same Rou­tine. Es gibt einen Bombe­nan­schlag, ein Kranken­haus, eine Leichen­halle, es gibt ein Begräb­nis. Es find­et ein Bombe­nan­schlag statt und Glas zer­split­tert. Am näch­sten Mor­gen wachen die Men­schen auf, kaufen neues Glas und richt­en ihre Geschäfte wieder her. Es wird fast nor­mal. Das Chaos kann fast vorher­sag­bar sein.

Ich kann mir ein Foto-Pro­jekt für Oberöster­re­ich vorstellen, um die Kul­tur und das Leben der Men­schen hier zu skizzieren, das Tren­nende zu durch­brechen und mehr Empathie zu erzeu­gen. Fotografie ist ein direk­ter Weg, um die Bar­ri­eren, die zwis­chen ver­schiede­nen Men­schen, ver­schiede­nen poli­tis­chen Ansicht­en und ver­schiede­nen Reli­gio­nen beste­hen, zu über­brück­en. Fotografie ist der klarste Weg, den ich gefun­den habe, um Ein­füh­lungsver­mö­gen aus Wahnsinn oder Chaos zu schaf­fen.

VITA

Die preis­gekrönte Doku­men­tar­fo­tografin Andrea Bruce konzen­tri­ert sich in ihrer Arbeit auf Men­schen, die in Kriegs­ge­bi­eten leben. Sie begann damit 2003 und war mit Schw­er­punkt auf Irak und Afghanis­ten bere­its in den größten Krisen­re­gio­nen dieser Welt tätig.

Sieben Jahre lang war Andrea Bruce als Fotografin für die Wash­ing­ton Post im Irak sta­tion­iert. In dieser Zeit schrieb sie ihre wöchentliche Kolumne „Unge­se­henes Irak“, in der sie die öffentlich wenig bekan­nten Seit­en des Lebens im Krieg aufzeigte. Neben The Wash­ing­ton Post sind auch Nation­al Geo­graph­ic und The New York Times zwei ihrer wichtig­sten Auf­tragge­ber.

Andrea Bruce erhielt bere­its zahlre­iche Preise und Ausze­ich­nun­gen, darunter den 2. Preis des World Press Foto 2014 für das Bild „Soldier’s Funer­al“ und den ersten Chris Hon­dros Fund Award 2012 für „Engage­ment, Bere­itschaft und Hingabe, die in ihrer Arbeit zum Vorschein kom­men“. 2010 ver­lieh die White House News Pho­tog­ra­phers Asso­ci­a­tion (WHNPA) Andrea Bruce ein Stipendi­um für ihre Arbeit in Inguschetien (Rus­s­land). Außer­dem wurde sie mit dem renom­mierten John Faber Award des Over­seas Press Club in New York aus­geze­ich­net und vier­mal von der WHNPA zur Fotografin des Jahres gekürt.

Derzeit arbeit­et sie an einem Pro­jekt, das zeigt, wie Demokratie in ver­schiede­nen Com­mu­ni­ties in den USA gelebt und ver­standen wird.